Showing 1–16 of 55 results

A Walker’s Notebook, Alfred Wainwright

A Walker's Notebook, Alfred Wainwright
A Walker's Notebook has been compiled for all those people who walk for pleasure (over 77% of the UK adult population). This best-selling book has sold over 70,000 copies and this new edition has a flexi binding and its small size makes it ideal for slipping in a pocket and taking along with you …

Bristol Lives, Maurice Fells

Bristol Lives, Maurice Fells
Bristol has plenty to be proud of when it comes to famous people. Some were born in the city while others were drawn to it by its colourful heritage, adventurous spirit and vibrant atmosphere of culture and enterprise.

Britain’s Best Small Hills (Phoebe Smith)

Hot on the success of Wilderness Weekends, one of the top selling guides in 2015, award-winning travel writer Phoebe Smith returns with more great outdoor experiences tailored not just for the hard-core wilderness enthusiast but for novices and newbie hillwalkers alike. Take a friend, or take the kids – or both! – and climb one of Phoebe’s favourite hills. There are 60 of them detailed in this easy-to-follow guide which champions a new easy-access approach to hillwalking. With 20 hills each in England, Wales and Scotland, from just 120 metres to a manageable 609 metres, and from Cornwall to the Scottish Highlands, there’s bound to be a hill for you.

Camping and Caravanning Club

Camping and Caravanning Atlas of Britain

The 2019 edition of the Philip’s Navigator and Camping and Caravanning Club Atlas is available to buy now, priced £19.99 – and promises to be an essential for any motorhome, caravan or car.

It lists more than 2,800 approved campsites and more than 8,000 restricted bridges, so you should never get lost or take a wrong turn again.

Visit the Club’s online shop to buy your copy.

Camping and Caravanning Club Magazine

As the world’s oldest and largest Club for all forms of camping, and with over 500,000 members, the facilities and services are developed by people who share a love of camping and caravanning. Whether you’re a seasoned camper, caravanner or motor caravanner, or new to taking your accommodation with you, joining the Club will help you to get more from your caravanning and camping holidays. The magazine is full of great articles and stories!

ccc-stuart-kidman“We are delighted to be part of The Outdoor Guide and to share with you some of the great content featured in Camping & Caravanning magazine, including Julia Bradbury’s quarterly column.”

Stuart Kidman
Print Editor

Coast – Our Island Story, Nicholas Crane

Coast – Our Island Story, Nicholas Crane
Coast is a definitive narrative of Nicholas Crane’s journey of discovery around the edges of Britain and Ireland and the culmination of five years presenting the BBC’s successful series. On a journey of exploration, Crane describes how we discovered and embraced our coastline – the key to our island identity.

Colmer’s Hill by Marion Taylor

Colmer’s Hill, not far from the market town of Bridport in Dorset, has long been a recognised and much-loved landmark.

An ongoing obsession for artist Marion Taylor that has now resulted in this book featuring images from twenty-two artists. These have portrayed Colmer’s Hill in their own unique style and who Marion feels have captured the “spirit of the place” that is Colmer’s Hill.

Artists featured in the book include Robin Rae, Paul Nash and Brian Rice.

Derbyshire and The Peak District – a Dog Walker’s Guide

Derbyshire and The Peak District – a Dog Walker’s Guide, Peter Naldrett
On a fine day there is nothing quite so enjoyable for dog owners than getting out into the countryside with their pet for a leisurely walk. Once you get off your home patch, though, it is hard to know where you can walk safely with your dog and which pubs and cafes will welcome you both …

Extreme Sleeps: Adventures of a Wild Camper (Phoebe Smith)

Veteran globetrotter Phoebe Smith sets out to prove that outdoor adventures are available in the UK which rival anything found elsewhere in the world. In this sometimes scary, frequently funny and intriguing journey around the country, Phoebe attempts to discover and conquer its wildest places.

From spending the night in the decaying wreckage of a World War Two bomber at Bleaklow to pitching next to the adrenaline-inducing sheer drops of Lizard Point, Phoebe’s extreme sleeps defy her perceptions of the great outdoors and teach her about herself along the way.

Hampstead Heath: The Walker’s Guide, David McDowell

Hampstead Heath: The Walker’s Guide, David McDowell
David McDowall’s Walker’s Guide to Hampstead Heath gives the reader 10 enormously detailed walking tours for exploring the Heath, that much-loved slice of undeveloped, beautiful countryside at the heart of North London, and its famed surrounding areas …

Happy Days Out in the Lake District (Board book)

This beautifully illustrated children’s picture book provides ideas for days out in the Lake District with preschool children. It features 17 recognisable locations as well as a map of the Lake District. Full of warmth and humour it makes the ideal gift or souvenir!

Product information:
Format: Board book
Size: 167 x 167 mm
Pages: 18

Happy Days Out in the Lake District (Paperback)

This beautifully illustrated children’s picture book provides ideas for days out in the Lake District with preschool children. It features 17 recognisable locations as well as a map of the Lake District. Full of warmth and humour it makes the ideal gift or souvenir!

Product information:
Format: Paperback
Size: 167 x 167 mm
Pages: 24 (18 colour line drawings including map)

How England Made the English, Harry Mount

How England Made the English, Harry Mount
Harry Mount's “How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours” is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories. Q. Why are English train seats so narrow? A. It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse-drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots. For readers of Paxman's “The English”, Bryson's “Notes on a Small Island” and Fox's “Watching the English”, this intriguing and witty book explains how our national characteristics – our sense of humour, our hobbies, our favourite foods and our behaviour with the opposite sex – are all defined by our nation's extraordinary geography, geology, climate and weather …

Lake District Eyewitness Top 10, Helena Smith

Lake District Eyewitness Top 10, Helena Smith
Lake District in the Eyewitness Top 10 series from Dorling Kindersley is a condensed format guide book featuring dozens of illustrated, top ten lists for the traveller regardless of their disposable budget. To save you time and money a Top 10 Things to Avoid is also included.

Top 10 lists are given for things to see and do both in and around town, as well as the top ten features of particular locations or events. Practicalities are not forgotten as Top 10s are also provided for topics such as planning your trip, getting around and shopping.

Lost Lanes: 36 Glorious Bike Rides in Southern England

Lost Lanes: 36 Glorious Bike Rides in Southern England, Jack Thurston
Lost Lanes: 36 Glorious Bike Rides in Southern England presents an imaginative selection of interesting bike routes in southern England including the Home Counties. 30 tours are grouped geographically, with a special “best for” section providing a selection of best rides for families, wild camping, pubs, gourmets, history, etc. Six of the routes are the well-known organized rides, including the annual London to Brighton charity event …

Mission: Explore National Parks

It’s time to explore!

49 missions that dare you to discover our National Parks.

This book will challenge you to become an extreme explorer, natural navigator and wildlife watcher in our National Parks. Draw, rub, smear, write, colour and print your findings inside this book to create a unique field journal of your adventures.

Just £5 per book, available in English and Welsh language versions.